Courses for Spring 2017

Assuming I can convince one of my professors to change the time for a class, I plan on taking three courses next quarter. First, I will continue into the 3rd sequence of Akkadian. I look forward to this because I’ll finally have a basic grasp of the Akkadian grammar. Plus, I’ll be more prepared to utilized Akkadian in any future papers. Second, I will continue into the third sequence of Biblical Hebrew; however, because we’ve finished Lamdbin’s grammar already, it will be a reading course for the book of Psalms. For the paper at the end of the quarter, I hope to write about Psalm 82. Finally, I will take another language course: Old South Arabian. Although it is often times used, it is becoming more and more recognized as an important thing to consider along with ancient Israelite history and literature. Names of people who use Old South Arabian inscriptions for this purpose include, though are not limited to, Seth Sanders and Laruen Monroe.

It will be a great quarter!

5 thoughts on “Courses for Spring 2017

    • I’m not exactly sure. At U of C, we only have 3 primary requirement outside of meeting a certain number of credits. First, we must take 1 course from each of the three categories in the Div School. Second, we must pass a German course or exam. Third, we must take Intro to the Study of Religion. Beyond those courses, it is entirely up to us. Because I am interested in ancient Israelite history, I choose to focus on languages. It will, hopefully, give me an advantage when applying to PhD programs.

      Next year I’ll be taking Punic, Phoenician, and Hebrew inscriptions, Intermediate Akkadian, 2nd year Hebrew, one theology course (required), and one reading course.

      • I find it fascinating how different schools of biblical studies train students very differently. In my program that kind of old-school, hardcore philological approach is NOT the norm. Of course we do Greek and Hebrew, but we focus a lot on methodology, and have a lot of students doing the new contextual methods (e.g. postcolonial, womanist, ideological, etc.). Plus we are a seminary consortium so many students are interested in using their knowing for their religious communities, so spending years taking Punic and Phoenician and Akkadian are not exactly enticing.

        That said with every paradigm shift something gets lost, and while I thank God Biblical Studies is not all about comparative Semitic philology, I am glad there are a few masochists like you out there to keep those flames burning. πŸ™‚

      • I should clarify that this is not the typical biblical studies track. U of C does have a huge focus on methodology. After all, my adviser is one of the leading scholars on Pentateuchal Studies and Documentary Hypothesis. I am mainly pursuing the philology because I am interested in moving beyond Biblical Studies into ancient history more broadly.

Leave a Reply

