On the Nature of my Academic Pursuits: Two Core Tenets

Because I read literature that is often above the understanding people outside of the academic world, I’ll sometimes receive a certain amount of criticism for being “snobbish” or “prideful”. And I also write blogs which tend to be above what one would consider “common knowledge”. In all honesty, sometimes, with the level of my reading and type of blog posts I write, it is understandable that one may see me as trying to be above them. But this is assuredly not the case. In order to demonstrate why this is not the case, allow me to present two core tenets I hold to during my academic pursuits. Although I may have more core tenets, tenets undefined at the moments, these are two that I know guide my work everyday.

1) My academic pursuits are fueled by a passion for what I see to be relevant to society and culture. Studies of mine are not intended to be critical of ideas for the sake of being critical, nor are they intended to help me rise above other people in knowledge. As I see it, what I research and study is relevant to society and culture. If the relevancy does not come across, then I need to be sure to translate it into non-academic language.

2) I don’t think I’m always right. More often than not, people will assume that I always think that I am right. On the contrary, I know that I am often wrong. Yet I’ve found that in order to learn more and improve my ability to understand, it is necessary for me to speak my mind and risk being wrong. If it sounds as if I am attempting to prove myself to constantly be right, that is not my intention. My intention is simply to engage in dialogue with you to share knowledge and hopefully receive new knowledge from you.

What do you think?


Did you like what you read? Feel free to follow The Biblical Review for more general musings and book reviews.

2 thoughts on “On the Nature of my Academic Pursuits: Two Core Tenets

  1. The way I look at it, the stuff you do (which is similar to the stuff I do) is sort of like being good at sewing. We all have a knack for something. Our minds just sort of bend in certain ways. And yet people who are good at gymnastics, who can bend like that, are not seen as snobbish or prideful (unless they become arrogant about their talent). Stuff like reading Hebrew or Greek is considered “bad” because it’s very much outside the normal realm of life, and of the things people think about. They know people doing gymnastics; they probably don’t know someone who can read Hebrew or Greek. The lack of familiarity instills an aversion, and that aversion is seen as snobbishness, or pride. IMO, anyway. It’s something like that.

Leave a Reply

